‘Guardians Of The Galaxy’: Review

Guardians Of The Galaxy Banner

I couldn’t take it anymore, I had to succumb to the peer pressure of the Summer movie bonanza that I don’t take in anymore. I still like blockbusters that these months provide, but I just don’t care enough anymore to actually trek out in public with other people (ugh) and watch the same thing I see every summer with a bunch of strangers. I’ve also been a bit sick of comic book films of late, again they’re usually fun to look at and watch, but are just increasingly so much of the same that it just doesn’t seem a necessity to watch them that ravenously anymore, where the Blu-Ray release will suffice.

Well, Guardians of the Galaxy had seemingly changed all that, and I was bored so I actually ventured out to see my first movie of the Summer. Now, I’m no alien to the film or its development, I’ve been a huge James Gunn fan for years and was ecstatic to see him get a project of this magnitude and see so much trust put into him, so it’s super cool to see it insanely pay off for him. Everything looked cool with an interesting cast and a band of characters that were like the Avengers rejects type, that didn’t look all that cool or had amazing superheroes.

The main thing the film delivers, and obviously it’s intended feeling was fun. It’s just a lot of fun to go on this adventure with these characters and explore the oddities of their world with the oddball humour that James Gunn has always been known for, just multiplied on a 100 times bigger scale. The casting is perfect with Chris Pratt channelling his dumb and sarcastic model that must be like reading the back of his hand to play. I was so suspect during the production that Bradley Cooper would really be the best choice as Rocket Racoon’s voice as I really didn’t think he had the energy and life in his character to make Rocket everything he was supposed to be, but I was definitely wrong on that. Dave Bautista was your typical nowadays WWE star in a mainstream movie, and somehow was able to pull off the role of a big, dumb lug. Zoe Saldana didn’t really do anything crazy, but she was just as fine as she normally is.

The film really had presence to, a feeling that this wasn’t just some slapped together film by a group of executives or focus groups. It had a driving force and a spark to it that really separates itself from other superhero movies of late (even though it’s really not a superhero movie). I also loved James Gunn sticking to his roots, of course he did, by having Michael Rooker and his brother Sean Gunn in decently sized parts, and even a cameo by Nathan Fillion that I seemingly missed. So, thanks James Gunn in proving that there’s still room for a little heart in your mult-million dollar Marvel Summer blockbuster.

8/10

Leave a Reply

