The 86th Annual Academy Awards: Picks

Oscars

I was all excited about my Oscar picks because I’m pretty confident in them, and am not really wavering on any of them, but then I see everyone (the mass majority) has the same picks as me. Also, I’m never confident in my picks, and since I am this year it basically means that they’re all wrong, so I look forward to Philomena winning best picture.

Best Picture: The actual best picture isn’t even nominated (Before Midnight), but the second best one 12 Years A Slave is and it’ll win. I do not now how Inside Llewyn Davis is not nominated, not that it’d win, but c’mon. For fun let’s rank the best picture nominees:

12 Years A Slave

Gravity

The Wolf Of Wall Street

Her

Dallas Buyers Club

Nebraska

American Hustle

Captain Phillips

Philomena

Best Actor: Chiewtel Ejiofor gave the best performance, one that’s still hard to shake even months after seeing it, but Matthew McConaughey wins, he was great, though, and I love him more than anyone now, so I’m cool with it.

Best Actress: Blue Jasmine was a pretty forgettable film, but Cate Blanchett wins for it, she was quite good.

Best Supporting Actor: Love me some Jared Leto and he wins it. I really don’t think he has any competition here.

Best Supporting Actress: I wish beyond anything that June Squibb takes this home, but goddamn Jennifer Lawrence is nominated, so of course she wins this.

Best Director: All great nominees, but Alfonso Cuarón wins because Gravity was so different than everything else.

Best Adapted Screenplay: 12 Years A Slave, although I could see something like Terence Winter’s The Wolf Of Wall Street sneaking up.

Best Original Screenplay: Spike Jonze wrote a damn masterpiece. What an exquisite piece of writing that deserves to be recognized.

Best Animated Film: I really could care less about animated movies, but obviously Frozen wins.

Costume Design: I’m gonna give this to The Great Gatsby because period pieces with lavish wardrobes usually win this.

Film Editing: Gotta love those Greengrass edited films.

Cinematography: Gravity looked nice.

Sound Editing: Gravity sounded nice.

Sound Mixing: Gravity sounded nice.

Music (Original Score): Gravity sounded nice.

Music (Original Song): People really seem to love that Frozen song.

Visual Effects: Gravity looked visual effect-y.

Production Design: The Great Gatsby looked nice.

Make-up And Hairstyling: Dallas Buyers Club seems to be the one.

Best Foreign Language Film: I’ve only seen The Great Beauty, and it was indeed a beauty to look at, if lacking in other parts, but I’ll still pick it to win.

Best Documentary: The Act Of Killing is the only one of these I’ve seen and it’s pretty damn good. It has the buzz coming in.

Documentary Short Subject: I’ll say The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life wins because it’s about the holocaust. The Academy loooves giving shit to holocaust films, so yeah, I’ll take this one.

Short Film: I have no clue about this, so I’m guessing The Voorman Problem.

Short Film (Animated): Get A Horse! sounds like fun!

*UPDATE POST OSCARS: I got 19/24 correct, which I guess on the outset seems good, but I really expected myself to do a lot better, but I think this is my best year yet at picking the winners, so I’ll take it!*

Leave a Reply

