The 71st Annual Golden Globe Awards Reaction

(Reuters)

(Reuters)

Alright, so lets talk about some general actual Golden Globes ceremony shit before we get into the shit that actually matter (but, actually doesn’t as well). I’m an unabashed Ricky Gervais Golden Globes supporter, I’m a huge fan of his and absolutely loved when he was given the reigns to the show, and eventually a couple more. He was biting, funny and toed the line on not giving a fuck about who he was making fun of. Now, I love Tina Fey and Amy Poehler almost as much, and so I was sad last year when it wasn’t Gervais again, but Fey/Poehler were just as great. This year wasn’t any different and their monologue killed, with some great jokes on McConaughey, Clooney and DiCaprio.

As good as they are, they were sparingly seen throughout the telecast. As great as their straight-forward jokes are, I think they work best when they do bits. I always loved when they did those bits in the Emmys during the Best Comedic Actress category with all their nominees. Legend Julia Louis-Dreyfus played along with this in the monologue and later in the show, riffing off being nominated in film and TV, and it was wonderful. I liked the idea of Poehler playing off Kevin Bacon and Kyra Sedgwick’s daughter where she’s the onstage “shooer” (a technicale term), but it almost seemed to common-based SNL humour. But, yeah, Fey/Poehler were great, and if I can’t get Gervais, they’re really the next best.

Alright, so what the shit is up with giving Woody Allen the Cecil B. DeMille award if he’s not even going to be there? I mean, make no mistake, Allen deserved the award ten times over, but of course you know he’s not going to show up, so really why even bother. It’s incredibly weird dedicating 20 minutes to someone, and going so in depth on their career driving towards something so anti-climatic it just falls flat and then awkwardly going to commercial.

Actual winners, okay cool. Jennifer Lawrence is great in American Hustle, even if the film isn’t so itself and totally deserved to win. Lawrence is that great actress who can do actual awards calibre films along with blockbuster type films (“Hunger Games”) at the same time. Infinite props.

Bryan Cranston wins of course, and how was Liev Schreiber and James Spader nominated? lol

Breaking Bad won best dramatic series. WOW jk

I don’t know how Jon Voight wins for ‘Ray Donovan,’ I mean the show sucked, and he was alright, but there’s really no reason he wins against Josh Charles, who is great, Aaron Paul, who is terrific, and Corey Stoll who was fantastic and should have won.

I love Amy Adams, I really do, but I’m too much of a Before Midnight fan (which is a masterpiece) to let go that Julie Delpy didn’t win. Dreyfus and Gerwig were almost equally good to win. I mean, really I like them all, so it’s all good.

Robin Wright won best actress in a drama, which is fine, she was good, but I really didn’t think she was given all that much to do. She was good, but I don’t think the show really pushed her to do anything that great.

I loved Jared Leto winning, he was so deserving and I loved Dallas Buyers Club, even if it seems its been fallnig by the wayside in awards season, performances aside.

So stoked to see Spike Jonze win for writing Her. What a gorgeous film, not only visually, but how Jonze paced it all out.

How does Brooklyn Nine-Nine win best comedy? It’s an entirely fine, if slightly above average show, but to actually win? This was the most baffling award of the night. Not that the rest of the shows were that great, but I just don’t know how this wins, but I guess this was the Golden Globes. And also Andy Samberg wins? Again, the same as before, he’s funny, but award-worthy? Ehhhhhhhhhhh.

Amy Poehler wins for “Parks.” So happy, she’s the best, so much deserved.

Alfonso Cuaron was in the compnay of some great directors, but he was the most sensible winner. Not only was his film daring and different, but within it he created and pulled off something that didn’t seem possible a few years ago.

DiCaprio wins for best actor in a comedy which is hilarious as he said, Leo in a comedy, which is all sorts of great. But, really a tough category with Bale being amazing in American Hustle, Phonenix in Her, Isaac underratedly perfect in Inside Llewyn Davis and Bruce Dern supposedly great in Nebraska (which I’m so sad I haven’t seen yet).

American Hustle wins best comedy. Alright, then. It’s not like Her, Inside Llewyn Davis and The Wolf Of Wall Street were nominated against it…

Cate Blanchett winning for Blue Jasmine. Nice choice, even if I’m a Bullock fan myself.

I really love McConaughey winning for “Dallas” even if I think Ejiofor is more deserving. I’ve been in awe of Ejiofor’s performance since I’ve seen it, and think McConaughey would win in any other year, but hey, I guess it’s this year. McConaughey was so great, in his best role of his career, and pretty much turned me back into a fan of his.

Very happy that 12 Years A Slave won, after I thought it was falling by the wayside in awards season. I think Before Midnight is the best film of the year, but it’s too small to get any attention, and thus 12 Years A Slave is my second favourite film, and something that should be rewarded. Lets see if the moment pushed along to the Oscars.

Leave a Reply

