‘The World’s End’: Review

The World’s End Banner

I’m not really a huge Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, and Edgar Wright fan, granted I like them, but I don’t fawn over them like it seems a lot of the internet does. Out of all of it, I’d say I’m most a fan of Wright’s directing which is often very confident and assured, but willing to skew into any weird tangent. That’s why I think he’s been so good with this “Three Flavours Cornetto” trilogy dipping into three different sub-genres, where his directing prowess can easily transform to fit. I don’t know why I;m going to say this, but I am, on a strict ability to adapt, Wright has some Spielberg type skills where he’s able to quickly morph into a new form to cover this certain film’s different challenges without missing a beat. I’m really looking forward to seeing him tackle the “Ant-Man” movie.

Anyways, yeah, The World’s End. I really don’t have much to say about it, hence why I’m padding out this review with Edgar Wright praise. I actually didn’t know the film was going to be a sci-fi flick, but I guess after a zombie and buddy cop one, this feels like a nice progression. I was prepared for just a straight up “drinking” comedy, like a less ridiculous Beerfest or something, but the whole storyline of an alien invasion where they made copies of people or whatever was a nice anchoring point. I did feel like all this alien cannon and backstory was laid on a little thicker than it needed to be, but since Pegg, Frost, and Wright are all sci-fi junkies it’s not surprising that they took the ball and ran with it.

The acting was pretty great all around as well, and of course was a main proponent in selling a lot of the comedy and making the sci-fi/alien stuff as believable as possible. I really like Pegg playing a dick, and just an asshole, as he made for a fun and interesting “hero.” Frost was kinda boring, but I always find I’m the least drawn to him in these films anyways. Martin Freeman is forever just the coolest guy on earth, and I love seeing him get bigger and bigger roles. It’s hard to see him now all those years ago as lowly Tim just trying to win Dawn’s heart. Oh, yeah, by the way, I laughed a bunch of times during the movie. Just thought you’d like to know that.

7/10

Leave a Reply

